top of page

Gavin enjoys an active international career as a flautist, composer and researcher. His passion for contemporary music has led him to appear at multiple festivals and summer schools including a residency at the Banff Centre where he worked with the International Contemporary Ensemble, and a four month studio in New York City studying with renowned contemporary flautist, Robert Dick.

Gavin often collaborates with composers in the creation of new works and has given many premieres in the UK, USA, Canada, and Poland as both a soloist and ensemble player. This interest has developed into his PhD which he completed at Royal Holloway, University of London, examining the collaborative process whilst looking at traditional Japanese musical aesthetics and exploring the Kingma System flute, a development of the modern western flute that enables the accurate production of quarter tones. Most recently Gavin was invited to perform the US premieres of Kingma System works at the National Flute Association’s 47th annual convention in Salt Lake City and also appeared as a guest artist at the 2018 International Low Flutes festival in Washington DC.

Gavin holds music degrees at both undergraduate and postgraduate level from Royal Holloway, University of London, and graduated his masters programme with the award for highest overall performance and a high distinction for his final recital which traced the influence of Varése’s Density 21.5 on contemporary flute repertoire.

In 2019 Gavin co-founded the epoch ensemble, a flexile instrumentation group specialising in new music, who gave their inaugural performance at St Martins in the Fields as semifinalists in their annual chamber music competition to high praise. He is the flute player with London based contemporary Wind Quintet PRISM ensemble, and regularly performs with The Thinking Minds Project.

Gavin was a member of the BCMG NEXT young artist programme where he enjoyed working with Rebecca Saunders and Harrison Birtwistle and performing works by Gérard Grisey, Péter Eötvös, Helmut Lachenmann, and Fabio Vacchi. 

bottom of page